Seeing My Promises

A lot has happened in the last couple of months, and I had multiple post topics in mind but they never got written. So instead I’ll wrap it all up in one and start from the beginning. 

When Joel and I returned from Mexico I started substituting at a local elementary. This was a step out of my comfort zone. I never thought I would enjoy teaching. But the more I did, the more I loved it. One day when I subbing, I overheard some aides talking about  an aide position open at the other elementary. After praying about it and seeking counsel, I applied for it. After I accepted the job, I found it was temp. I was a little disappointed but trusted God. A lot happened during the two and a half months I was there. A lot of uncertainty. For a while, I never knew if I would have a job the next day since it was temp. But the day after the students left, I was offered a permament position and gladly accepted it. The best part of it was I got to stay with second grade which was what I wanted. My summer vacation hasn’t been super exciting but pretty relaxing. Not getting paid isn’t fun, but it’s manageable. I’m definitely looking forward to going back and meeting the new second graders and seeing all the third graders I worked with last year.  

A few weeks after school ended, another amazing thing happened. I finished my online classes!! I am now just over a month away from walking at graduation. My cap and gown came in the mail last week. I was just going to wear my sister’s because it was the same color, but IWU actually got something right and mine was free! It has been so nice to not have any homework to worry about. I can’t wait when I go back to work I’ll be able to come and relax and not have to hide in another room to write a paper or take a test. This bachelor’s degree was a long time coming, and I am so thankful it’s done. A lot of people have asked if I’ll go back for more (either a teaching license or a masters). I can’t answer that. As of now, no. (I need a break.) But I have no clue where God will take me or what He’ll have me do in a month, a year, five years. I can’t bring myself to say I’m done with school when I don’t really know. I have learned over time that my plans are not always God’s plans. For example, I thought I was going to sell my car two years ago. But God had other plans and I’m selling it now. I want my plans to be God’s plans. So if He has me go back, then I’ll go back. But for now, I  am very much enjoying not being a student. 

Leave a Reply

