Perspective

Over the last month I have been working to keep things in the right perspective. Sometimes it’s easier to see the negative things in a situation and overlook the positives. 

I am in the final stretch. With less than 10 weeks until my due date, the to-do list can sometimes seem daunting. I so desperately want everything to be done before he arrives, but it’s hard because we have no clue when that will be. As if to complicate things even more, April is crazy busy for us. I found myself saying last night, can we just skip April? Some of the extra things in our schedule include birthing classes, a breastfeeding class, and baby showers. Three showers in one week to be exact. It’s overwhelming when I think about everything that will take place this month. But as I reflected on my comment from last night I began reminding myself of my own words. Just over a week ago, I had a baby shower at my house. Neither Joel or I were in the best of spirits the morning of as we were finishing up some cleaning before family and friends arrived. But I told him that it’s because of the baby we were doing all of these things. Our answer to prayer was the reason we were tired and doing some things we didn’t feel like doing. So even though I get tired just thinking about all of the things happening in the next four weeks, I’m thankful for them. It’s because of our answer to prayer that we get to go birthing classes. It’s because I have family and friends that love me that they want to celebrate this life too. It’s because I’m growing a baby that I’m the most moody and emotional person at times. Hormones are so real. Like when you nearly cry because the water boils over on stove because you forgot to turn the heat down. Hormones. Are. Real. You can all pray for Joel!

When I asked God for a baby, that meant I was also asking for all of the responsibility that comes with it. I was asking for the sleepless nights, the doctors appointments, the extra financial load, all of the decision making. But when I can remember to keep the situation in the right perspective, those things don’t seem so big and bad. The blessing is worth all of the hard stuff. I don’t ever want to be ungrateful for my gift. 

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James 1:17

Leave a Reply

